6 Things To Know About Hanukkah

by Lindsay Shapka in , ,


Hanukkah.JPG

1. This Jewish holiday always runs for eight days starting on the 25th day of the Jewish month of Kislev

2. It began during the rule of Antiochus IV who desecrated a Jewish temple by sacrificing pigs on the altar (check out my post What Does Kosher Mean Anyway? to find out why this was a big deal). The Jewish people banded together and revolted, taking the temple back. At the time of rededication there was almost no oil left that had not been desecrated, and oil was needed for the menorah that was supposed to burn through the night. Though there was only enough for one day, it burned for eight and as a result, an eight-day festival was declared to celebrate the miracle. 

3. The only religious observance related to this holiday is the lighting of candles arranged in the candelabrum (menorah). They are lit from right to left (like how the Hebrew language is read) and can be lit anytime after dark before midnight. The candles can be blown out 1/2 an hour after they are lit or can be left to burn out on their own.

4. Giving small gifts on each day of Hanukkah is not a part of the religious ritual, but is an influence from the Christian tradition of gift-giving at this time of year. Because of its close proximity to Christmas, Hanukkah is often called the Jewish Christmas. 

5. Fried food is eaten during this time of year because of the significance of oil to the holiday.

6. The game played with a dreidel at this time of year is actually a gambling game — it is not just a child's toy! 

Pin Me!

Six things to know about Hanukkah
 


What Does Kosher Mean?

by Lindsay Shapka in ,


what does kosher mean?

The word 'kosher' gets thrown around in everyday language a lot lately, but do you actually know what it means? 

According to the website Judaism 101, 'kosher’ describes a set of biblical dietary restrictions.

Contrary to popular belief, though they may recite blessings over a dinner table, rabbis do not bless food to make it kosher, and the word ‘kosher’ does not describe a style of cooking.

For example, Chinese food can be kosher if it is made in accordance with Jewish law and, on the flip side, typical Jewish food like bagels can be non-kosher if prepared incorrectly. 

8 general rules for eating kosher

  1. Only animals with cloven hooves who chew their cud can be eaten (that means no camel, badger, hare, or pig burgers allowed). Aquatic animals with fins and scales are fine, but shellfish are a no-no. Birds of prey, scavengers, rodents, reptiles, amphibians, and insects are forbidden (Indiana Jones is definitely not Jewish).

  2. Animals must not have died from a natural death or been killed by another animal. There must be no diseases in their organs and they must be killed quickly with a deep stroke across the throat.

  3. There is a belief in Judaism that an animal's life (aka soul) is contained in the blood, so all of it must be drained before the meat can be eaten.

  4. You must not eat the sciatic nerve or blood-vessels surrounding it, and the fat that surrounds the vital organs is off limits.

  5. All fruits and vegetables are kosher but not the bugs that crawl on them so they must be carefully inspected.

  6. Meat and dairy must never be eaten together.

  7. Dish-ware touched by dairy can never be touched by meat and vice versa.

  8. Grape products like wine and juice, made by non-Jews are forbidden. (This rule stems back to ancient pagan religions’ use of wine in ritual).

Why are these rules in place?

The short answer? Because the Torah says so. 

Apparently though, the Torah does not actually give reasons for these rules and many adherents believe that following the rules without needing reasons shows obedience to God. 

Pin Me! 

what does kosher mean?